Select Language

Award in Access to Hospitals (SCQF Level 6)

Qualification Title Award in Access to Hospitals
SCQF Level 6
QCF / RQF / EQF Level * 4
Credits 3

* Equivalent level. See Qualifications Can Cross Boundaries for a comparison of the UK and European Qualifications Frameworks.

This qualification is SCQF credit-rated by the Scottish Qualifications Authority (SQA). See the SCQF website for the full list of SCQF credit-rated EduQual qualifications.

The SCQF is a partnership between the Quality Assurance Agency for Higher Education (QAA), College Development Network, the Scottish Qualifications Authority (SQA) and Universities Scotland.

Programme Specification

This qualification is for learners who wish to join the new credentialing register for Life Sciences sector staff, but who only need to meet the criteria of Tier 1 of the standards of proficiency, i.e. no contact with patients or relatives.

Upon completion of the qualification, learners should know and understand:

  1. their speciality area/product, its use/application, and where appropriate can impart knowledge of this use/application, and
  2. infection control risks and processes appropriate to their role

This online course is recognised by Cogent Skills (the employer-led skills body for the UK Science sector) as being successfully mapped to ‘National Occupational Standards’ and can be delivered and assessed in partnership with HC Skills International.

Sample Certificate

SCQF L6 A-AH Certificate Sample_Page_1

Note: Learners who expect to access areas of critical care should consider the Award in Access to Operating Theatres.